Saturday, March 22, 2008

Chemical Madness

Oh shit...I just found this track...HOLLA!

http://www.divshare.com/download/4085130-cbb

Chemical Brothers + Spank Rock= Hot Shit! For those of you who know me in the biblical sense...and what I mean by that is not what you may think, I mean it like you know my taste in music...there are a select select few, you know who you are, who *really* know why I listen to what I listen to and why...you'll know why this track rocks my panties off.

Some background, I am obsessed with all things Spank Rock. I've seen them in 3 different states and a little less than 10 times in just 2.5 years of knowing them...there are few things they belong to that I don't subscribe to. Getting to know Spank Rock is like getting to know all things B'More and Philly. There is some ridiculouly good talent there as many of you are well aware of. Perhaps in another post, I'll do a B'More/Philly family tree. Won't be too hard as everyone has either collaborated in some fashion or fucked! Here is a great performance and interview from S dot rock at the best radio station in the world:

http://www.divshare.com/download/4086624-3c5

Seriously if I haven't shoved KEXP down your throat enough...check them out at:

www.kexp.org

Free format, no commercials and good music. Best time to listen to M-F 6am-6p (PST) and if you like reggae, the best reggae show every saturday from 9am-12n (PST). Apparently they are so well loved in the Big Apple that John (most famous DJ on the station) will be doin a simulcast on 91.5 WNYE. I think it starts this Monday too. I am not sure how that is going to work. It means that either the WC or the EC will not have it live. Which reminds me I was throwing gang signs at the wedding I was at last night...Hmm...if anyone can enlighten me on how it will work let me know. Either way NYC will have a chance to get it on radio instead of stream which is a good deal since I am going to be living there shortly! New York BEWARE!!

Going back to the Spank Rock performance, the last track on this set is called "Race Riot on the Dance Floor". That song is soo good on so many different levels shoot! Get ready to shake, shake shake it...c'mon shake shake it...ok since I went there:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_4N8MVMm7s

As for the Chemical Brothers, I've seen them on several different occasions...always an amazing time...but the first was most def the best! There used to be this small club in SF called the Trocadero Transfer...yeah I know there's one in Philly...but apparently there are a lot of places called the Trocadero all over the world. A little history...the Troc was the first house built in SF west of Twin Peaks. I shit you not. It was an old roadhouse which you could tell when you walked in as there was a balcony that hovered over the bar and the very teeny tiny dance floor. This place would oversell tix to shows by at least 100. Never had I felt more like a sardine dancing...but the best part about it was that *everyone* danced...I mean everyone! You didn't really have an option. So they were so kind to host CB like maybe a month or two after the release of Exit Planet Dust...oh here you go:

http://www.divshare.com/download/4086591-829

you know I can't help myself...love this track...good to run to kids...especially if you do hills like me...ok anyway I digress...at this show everyone and I mean everyone was taking ecstacy. Such a good vibe that night...everyone sweating...everyone sharing water...everyone sucking blow pops...hahaha...OK I am dating myself. If you were there, then you would agree the night was magical!

It's almost time for mimosas...happy easter y'all...pok pok!

No comments: