Thursday, May 29, 2008

Switch




A man who needs no introduction...his name usually follows most tracks I post...the quintessential king of remixes...his skills supersede most...A true genius. I love this man. He has gotten me to say oh shit 99% of the time while listening to his tracks...but I am not always in love...sometimes I get disappointed...but I think it just has to do with taste and not skills...I mean I love bacon, but you won't catch me eating pickled pigs feet...ya dig?

Hailing from the UK he is aka Solid Groove, Brucker (in A Brucker & Sinden) and Dave Taylor...yeah Dave, I know boring! He pretty much was the mastermind behind M.I.A.'s new album...so if you like those beats...thank him oh and a little thanks to Diplo too ;) He's the guy who jump started Santogold's career...he's remixed every B'More/Philly act I know and love. He is omnipotent...he's like god! Look how mellow he looks. The pic below is from Mad Decent's blog...thanks for that Dips! Here's what Diplo had to say: "we went to Manchester where me and atrak and switch all did wippets in a closet at some kids house.. not even playin atrak WAS MAD DRunK!!! awesome!"


(in case you're wondering...front seat Diplo...back seat...far left...dunno...middle seat A-Trak, he does look fucked up! and Switch far right)

High-fucking-larious Diplo! You so crazy!!!

So I am leaving you with 3 tracks...the first is Switch's remix of Armand Van Helden's "Jtaime". To hear an even more amazing version of this, listen to Joker's of the Scene's "Disconnected Volume 5--December 2007" mix...it comes in at 30:56...right after Crookers remix of Don Rimini's "Let Me Back Up"...JOTS nice track selection...for reals!!! Anywhose...JOTS speeds Jtaime up and it just bangs...great for running up hills!!! All you ol' school ballers who used to party with me in the 90's...you know who you are...this track will be a little piece of nostalgia for you...I think part of this track was the ComeUnity crew's anthem at one point!! You'll know what I am talking about...oh and this song sooo creeps ;)

http://www.zshare.net/audio/12776458996b4b45/

The second track is Switch's remix of Azzido Da Bass' "Dooms Night"...oh fuck is all I gotta say...this track bangs hard...if you look it up at turntable lab, there is a bomb icon next to it! It's that good!! Switch is a mastermind at creating crescendos. The beat is soo dope and the bass is kickin'!!! And you know how I feel when it comes to bass!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/127773221f350612/

OK, lastly I am posting a track the same track, but remixed by Crookers...a friend who turned me onto this...thank you very much by the way...I love that you thoroughly understand what I dig...I heart you! Oh shit and me and this pal are going to see Switch tomorrow eve at the Natural History Museum in Nueva Jork!! Yeah for us!!! Switch rarely stops on this side of the pond...so we are stoked!! Expect a full report, pics and maybe even video!!!! OK, back to Crookers track...they do a nice take on this song too...my friend, who sent it to me, argues that it's better than Switch's...I don't know that I agree...apples and oranges! You kids will dig it regardless!!! Enjoy!!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/12781223890c2f87/

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Ask...

...and you shall receive! I am so excited to let you know that Infatuation, the party that I go to on Wednesdays...the party that I just saw Low Bee at...and In Flagranti...and Drop the Lime...is now doing a podcast! YAHOOEY!!! To subscribe to the podcast go to http://this.bigstereo.net/. Mad props to Big Stereo! Big Stereo is one of my favorite music blogs...dig them lots!!! I've downloaded the first pod which is from our friends In Flagranti. So go get ready to shake your ass to the sweet disco beats! Enjoy!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/12693719364ff7ac/

Saturday, May 24, 2008

I Did It All By Myself!!!

OK, not a major accomplishment, but now you can have a visual taste of the shows I go to...soon to be audio!

Alright, so the firt pic is of Low Bee. I like this shot cuz it shows the decks quite nicely!


The next two shots show you how hard he was workin' on the 1s and 2s...check out the sweat on his brim!!




This shot is of these characters that were there that night. I love the sparkly jacket...and how about his pal in the overalls...straight out of NKOTB! Where's Donnie?


This girl's skirt was soo fucking short, yet she managed not to show her ass when she was shaking it on the dance flo'...holla!

Thursday, May 22, 2008

Someone Hates Me!!!

Nightmares for life yo!!!

http://pinglewood.com/

P.S.--See 5/22/08 Drums of Death

Wachoo Know Abou'...That?

LOW BEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!! OH my, I think I may have blinded him last night!! I took sooo many god damn pics of him it was as if I was his personal tour photog...Hilarious! As soon as I figure out how to upload my photos onto my laptop I will let you have a taste of all the craziness that happened last night. (the better 1/2 of eliminate the H maybe yous can teach me when we's in Nueva Jork mang?)

An observation I thought of after a couple glasses of champagne...oh yeah it was that kinda night, um, but it still rings true in my sober state at the moment, and that is why is it that all my favorite bangin' djs are short? I am not complaining b/c being short is the shit! S'up SHAWTTTY!! I am short and most people who are kill it...I am not going to explain myself here...but I think most of you know what the fuck I am talking about...ha!...um, but yeah interesting nonetheless...in fact when I think about it more, I don't know too many DJs that are tall...OK, ?uestlove does not count...cuz he's really a drummer...well maybe Terminator X was tall...shit is...he ain't dead...hmm...ok I'll have to think about this a little more...if you guys think of some give a shout and lemme know who!

Anywhose, I am leaving you with Low Bee's b'More version of none other than TI's "What You Know About That?" Not much was changed to the original version 'cept our boy Bee throws in a B'More bangin club beat. Simple is as simple does. AND don't give me shit about posting TI either b/c you know you know all the words to this song and when you're in yo piece of shit car, you get all gangsta as you roll through the burbs turning to the old money bags or yuppified peeps next to you at the light throwing gang signs chantin' "Wachoo Know Abou' That?"...oh fuck, that's just me ;) Ay! Ay! Ay! Ay! Ay!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/12425798f49f9ef7/

P.S.--If you are like who the hell is Low Bee, see posting 3/26/08 bitches!

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Tha Mutha Fuckin' Jackpot!!!

Once again, OH SHIT!! NO I REALLY MEAN OH SHIT!!!! I was just about to lay my head down for a disco nap as tonight I am going to the after party for M.I.A. where none other than your pal and mine, Low-Bee! Will be hitting the 1s and 2s!!! A post on him tomorrow...but seriously, I was doing my usual, let's see what I can download while I rest my head and this is what I found:

http://onedaylater.blogspot.com/2008/05/memory-mans-house-of-tapes-various-live.html

This is a link to the Golden Ticket! I mean if anyone has read "And It Don't Stop-The Best American Hip Hop Journalism Over the Last 25 Years" or "Born in the Bronx" (which is actually more of a coffee table pictorial) this would be the soundtrack! If you don't know what the fuck I am talking about, just think of the real deal, I am talking L-Brothers, Grandmaster Flash, Melle Mel, Cold Crush Brothers, Masterdon, Trecherous 3, Zulu Nation, Roxanne Shante, Bambaataa...and the list goes on! These are downloads to the original battles and shows taken place from 1978-1988...this is it!!! If you want to be in the know...download all this shit NOW!!! This is where it all started...the BEAT IS SOOOOOO DOOOOOOOPPPPPPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!

Sunday, May 18, 2008

Songs to Fuck to

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kh4mam8npbI&eurl=http://fiftyonefiftyone.com/

Friday, May 16, 2008

Mochipet

Two posts in one day! I know! I need a break from work before I take off...so I'm gonna give you a couple of tracks from my pal and yours Mochipet. Mochipet is taking off these days. He is uber talented break core king! He remixes everyone and does his own tracks. He works with everyone who is anyone these days and he is from the Yay Area...HOLLA! He's from a little town just south of SF called Daly City. Although I like to call it Daly Shitty as the weather is always shitty there. It's always overcast and foggy...ALWAYS! Anyway, he's having a remix contest where you can remix his songs and then the winner will get to be put on a 12" with some other peeps who did remixes of his tracks. So he has set up a remix blog and you can listen to everyone who has posted thus far...some are really good...some not so much. So I am giving you a good one! Check it!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/12137242e2e986bb/

Next he decided to remix my favorite bmore boyfriends yup you guessed it Spank Rock!
Enjoy!
http://www.zshare.net/audio/121369135a5974cc/

P.S.--I just checked the temp outside and it's 99. Thank god SF is much cooler coming in at 91!!! I may melt tonight!

It's That Beat

Hey there kids...it's Friday...YEAH!! This week has been rough...but we've had record breaking heat so the city has been alive!! Although mommy had a little too much fun last night celebrating with some of her gay boyfriends in the Castro as now it's a constitutional right for gays to get married in California....YEAH! Finally!!! Had to give that a plug as it's something I believe in...onto music talk now.

So as mentioned in my last post, I went to In Flagranti on Wednesday eve. What fun those kids are!! They threw down. I highly recommend going to see them if they ever come to your town. Everyone was out that night because of the lovely weather so it was a ton of fun! And what is up with all these young guys hitting on me lately? I had drinks bought for me from a 25 year old who had balls to the wall and was quite a good dancer I might add. Thanks for that young Eric!

Switching gears, I came across this track by Playdoe. Playdoe is comprised of Sibot aka DJ Fuck...yeah really...and Spoek. Spoek is an excellent emcee and hot to boot...yummy! Apparently they are straight out of South Africa. This track is of course quite danceable...and has fun fuzzy electro beats...Dig it!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/120849627c8c0e47/

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

Does Is It Feel Like We're Givin' In?

So tonight I am heading to see Sasha Crnobrnja & Alex Gloor, better known as In Flagranti. Everyone thinks these guys are the dirtiest duo out there. I don't see why. Yes, their album covers are of hot pussy...and I mean quite literally...and yes their videos connected to their mp3s are like snippets of porn...well not like, they are...ok some of you put your pants back on, don't go to youtube so fast! read my post first!! but their music isn't anything like say my pals Plastic Little, who are some of the dirtiest fuckers out there. These guys are your typical eurotrash who moved to NYC back in the day to get a slice of the pie. Although since they have been in NYC quite a while now, I don't believe they still qualify for eurotrash, but their music definitely sounds like it. Their sound has been said to be disco punk...in similar vain to LCD Soundsystem but I might call it italian-electro-disco. The song I am posting of theirs does sound like something James Murphy would have concocted as it has a very nice simple electro danceable loop. However, I still think they have their own unique sound. I might say this may be one of the dirtiest sounding of their songs...although not a dirty song...but the cover to this album definitely dirty! Ladies, unless you like ladies, you will most def not like looking at their covers...sorry! Ok boys, run don't walk to youtube!!

Grand Central Shuttle
http://www.zshare.net/audio/12011083cc90a502/

P.S.--Re: the subject line...that is what I think is being repeated in the song...for those of you who know me well know this could be very wrong! I am the worst when it comes to hearing lyrics...so someone school me if you know what he's really saying!

Monday, May 12, 2008

Guilty Pleasure

Hey there, hi there, ho there! Been a loooooonnnnnnnnnngggggg time! I know! Am sorry. I have been pretty busy...more busy than normal and hardly home! So I'm sneaking a post at my lunch break because it's been too long and I can't get this song out of my head!!

This weekend was a very good friend's bday and we celebrated A LOT! She asked for the new Madonna. Of course, I obliged. We obnoxiously sang "4 Minutes" all weekend long. We got cab drivers to play it. We even got cab drivers to sing along! Everyone was annoyed I'm sure. Although it only made us enjoy it more! 4 Minutes features both Justin Timberlake and Timbaland. This song will soon be remixed by many a DJ I have no doubt. Now I am not going to sit here and tell you that the song is amazing...but I have to say, it's pretty good in the sense that you can dance your ass off to it and you know, I am not going to diss a dance song now am I?

JT is the quintessential sassinator...and in his oh so breathy way repeats Madonna...throughout the chorus...while Madonna responds with tic toc tic toc tic toc...it's catchy...really...and the video Jesus Fucking Christ! How come it took JT and Madonna this long to dance together? The lady is about to turn 50 in August, and looks better than ever! So I give you 4 Minutes and the 4 Minutes video. Check it out...you may actually like it!

4 Minutes
http://www.zshare.net/audio/11922934d1f89097/

4 Minutes Video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfUjfioAnKY