Wednesday, April 30, 2008

ReeeeeeeeeeeeeMiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiixxxxxxxxxxxx!!!

Wassup? Wassup? Wassup? Wassup? Wassup? So lately I've been encountering all these remixes of old songs. In this post, I've included 3 new re-mixes along with the original so you can compare notes. Let me know your thoughts.

I've recently stumbled upon a Ghetto House remix of Hip Hop legends and political/cultural junkies Dead Prez' Hip Hop. Yes, yes smarties, the song that Chapelle Show stole the bass line from for the opening of the show...which truly is one of the sickest bass lines on a track ever! It's interesting as it's almost an entirely new song as the lyrics get changed but the message is still the same...it's more like an homage to the song. I'm not in love but all the bloggers seem to be, so check it and see what ya think:

New Dead Prez

http://www.zshare.net/audio/10747277107a0249/

Old Dead Prez

http://www.zshare.net/audio/1132285635b13668/


Next we have one of my oldest loves Fugazi. This song is Long Division which is a super short diddy and as simple as it gets. Shit there is nothing that they ever did that I did not like. If I were to ever see Ian MacKaye walking down the street I would pass out. I would! And Joe Lally, FO'GET ABOUT IT!! I've rubbed one out to him since I was 11! He ensued my love for bass players and was probably the reason why I dated so many!!! God damn those guys were so talented! RESPECT!!! So the re-mix version of the song would be better if they eliminated the "whoa/yeah" and the raver whistle. I'm a purest when it comes to Fugazi and so of course I don't like the re-mix, but for those of you who don't like punk, you may find the song more palatable with a dance beat attached to it.

New Fugazi

http://www.zshare.net/audio/113230750bab82d3/

Old Fugazi

http://www.zshare.net/audio/11322899b6508948/

Last but not least we have none other than America's apple pie The Boss!! I'm on Fire has always been one of my favorite songs of his. As a little girl I imagined myself making out with my best friend at the time Casey Brandt. Dude, I have tried to google your ass to figure out where the fuck you are! I miss this kid. We were really great friends from when we were kids through my very early 20's...then he moved to Montana and I don't know what ever happened. Perhaps he got all Brokeback Mountain on me...who knows! Anyway, this re-mix is actually not bad. I know, how could I say that about such a classic song? But really it's super mellow...something I might include in one of my "Making Sweet Love" Mixes. Those of you fortunate to receive those have since had sex for the first time, gotten married and have had children...I'm that good!! HA! It's definitely not as good as the original, of course! But interesting and definitely palatable.

The Boss

http://www.zshare.net/audio/11328023ed3fd262/

The Boss OG

http://www.zshare.net/audio/11327938d5823b85/

Monday, April 28, 2008

Bitter Betty, Table for One!!!

OK SERIOUSLY!!! Coachella is now over so please no more, "I'm sooo surprised you didn't go this year!" "Isn't this the first time ever you've not gone?" "Aren't you really bummed you're not there?" "Aside from the headliners, aren't most of those acts people who you really really like?" I can't deal anymore. It's done. No, I don't want to see the video of Prince doing "Creep"...It's actually one of the songs I don't like by Radiohead. I also don't like "Been Caught Stealing" by Jane's Addiction. In fact I HATE that song...if I hear it I want to slash my wrists. Yes, I actually hate a song by Jane's Addiction I know...unheard of for me! So because of said Coachella, I haven't seen too much new stuff, because people were/are still travelling back to their abodes today. Since I am done being bitter about it...ok this was my last rant, I am going to throw some nostalgia your way through some of the performers who were at Coachella...check them out:

Prince-"Controversy"--Ala 1981...This has always been one of my favorite Prince songs and I have had plans for this song for a very long time. I can't tell you what for but it will be soo good once I make it come to fruition! TRUST!

http://www.zshare.net/download/1124127797627d0e/

Love and Rockets-"No New Tale To Tell"--I made a mix for my sister with this on it representing 1987 and now it's one of my soon to be 4yr old nephews favorite songs! He really likes to belt out..."It's all the same THIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGG!" It's hilarious!

http://www.zshare.net/download/112412915bb5155a/


Kraftwerk-"Tour de France"--'83 Shit, I mean this is where it all started. This is truly one of the greatest tracks ever. Just ask Afrika Bambaattaa...(read about the evolution of Planet Rock).

http://www.zshare.net/audio/112378833628babf/

Saturday, April 26, 2008

OMG!!!!

OK, this is not music related at the moment but it could be in the future...so my Perpetual Wedding Date/Sharer of Habitat/Co-lover of Bad Hip Hop/One of My Favorite Partner's in Crime/Best BFF EVER!! just gave me my belated birthday present...(hello 3 months later!)and guess what it is??? A mutha-fuckin' nice god-damn camera!!! Oh shit! Do you guys know how dangerous this is?? It's pretty fucking dangerous because it takes movies!!! So you know what that means? I can then post pieces of shows I go to along with some drunken jibberish to boot! I might sound like the guy from the old game show Password or Homer Simpson on Duff beer. Either way, prepare yourself for some drop dead hilariousness in the near future...

The Rub

The Rub is made up of DJs Ayres, Eleven & Cosmo. As The Rub, they spin old school classic hip hop records and have a monthly party in Brooklyn at Southpaw the first Saturday of the month. This party has gotten a ton of press as it's probably the best time to dance your ass off to your favorite jams from back in the day. They have also been so kind to do a hip hop mix series on their website which very nicely highlights some of the best hip hop from 1999 to 1979. You can download each year by going here:

http://www.itstherub.com/radio.htm

I am very excited as next weekend one of my partners in crime & hired NYC show correspondent and I will be attending Studio B's grand opening of their rooftop garden! YAHOOEY! The Rub will be throwing down on the 1's and 2's alongside Roxy Cottontail and D'Holleringirl's favorite boys to shake her booty to Spank Rock! This is a recipe for a muthafuckin' good time!

So I need to make a shout to one of my friends. This post is for youte because you read my blog even though I know the majority of the stuff I post is not your scene. Since you are a dedicated follower and since you made a request, I leave you with the following (see track 2):

http://www.zshare.net/audio/11132220ee2350d9/

I couldn't get just the track without actually running out and buying it...which at 7 am no record shop is open. However this mix has a taste of it. It will have to do for the time being. I'll get you the real deal as a housewarming present. In fact you should have another Dance Your Ass Off Party and have people bring records as housewarming presents just like the old days. 'Cept this time don't fuck up your knee! Smoke 'em up Johnny!!!

Thursday, April 24, 2008

DTL

***I started writing this yesterday 4/24. It's now 4/25 and am just now getting back to it...so I am no longer still drunk, I SWEAR!***


Holy Shit! OK folks, so A) I may still be drunk...B)I'm totally still drunk! WOW, I hate being at the office like this...good thing I am going to be "Out in the field" most of the day...yahooey! So last night I went to see Drop the Lime at my new favorite club in SF called Vessel. I am so excited about it...it's so fucking dope! A little piece of NYC in SF if you will...with drink prices twice as expensive...shit! But still a great venue nonetheless. So me and my boy...my new fave dancing partner...ok well you have always been a favorite in the 10+years we've known each other...but as of late, since you let me drag you to shit you've never heard of at a moment's notice and we always compare notes about who masturbated more that day...you are certainly my new fave...not to mention...we're a fucking hot couple...you with your blonde hair and me with my raven curly locks...shit we TOTALLY could have taken that couple home last night...even our pal Luca Venezia...aka DTL...would have dropped everything for a romp with us...he totally swings both ways he's fucking Italian! HA! But I digress...so seriously...I've not been that close to a DJ in a long time. It was an amazing amazing time. I've been trying to upload his mix from XLR8TR but am having problems so you'll need to get it yourself at www.xlr8tr.com it's in the podcast section for November. It's quite good. In the meantime you can get a piece of him with this track. He played this track last night and it's quite good. If you like this, you'll like his mix for XLR8TR...it's great for working out!! Check it!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/11043590126b65d5/

Smell Yo Dick!

This is fucking hilarious!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzgGUW__9Jo

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

If You Ain't Got No Money...

...Take Your Broke Ass Home!!! OH SHIT! This new track from The Cool Kids is soooo DOPE!! First if you don't know who The Cool Kids are, run don't walk to buy their album. I've had the pleasure of seeing them twice now...in both SF and NYC. They're out of illville Chi-Town and all of 22 and some change. Listen to their lyrics they're innovative and their beats are sick.

This new track is called "Miami Beach"(Hydroz Metro-Dade Bass Mix). It's a straight throw back to Miami Bass sound and who doesn't love the big booty bass of Miami Bass? Someone find me this record...DAMN! Dig it!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/10967514ca353981/

Monday, April 21, 2008

Starfucker

That'd be me...yes, yes, admittedly I am a starfucker. I can't help it. I have to say though, I've been quite good lately and have not made an ass out of myself in front of said famous people. However on Saturday eve I found myself talking to Aoki which was quite enjoyable. Let's back the truck up a bit shall we?

So Sat eve was the Fools Gold party and a bunch of friends and I went. Prior we had met for cocktails at one of our usual haunts located stumbling distance from my house. This place pours ridiculously strong drinks, essentially if you order a kettle soda with double lime like yours truly, you are getting a glass of vodka with a splash of soda...and I mean splash. Knowingly, I was actually milking my drinks...SHOCKER I know...but I really wanted to make sure I remembered everyones sets. We get to the club close to 11:30 p.m. and hardly anyone was there, which was actually a little surpising to me. As we walked in, we see Aoki come walking towards us. I turn to my boy and we both at the same time said that's Aoki! We kept walking though and got drinks so we could head to the floor and catch the end of Sammy Bananas set. Seeing as we were some of the first people on the dance floor, we pretty much took over, which of course is one of my favorite things to do. A girlfriend who was in rare form that night, I think mostly because before we went out she announced she was planning on making out with someone...ha! Well she was all about twirling me around and dipping me a lot. She was typsy and hilarious and I kept thinking this must be what I look like when I get like this. Anyway, at one point she spun me so hard that we went falling into this couple. Awesome! There were these dudes behind us commenting on our acrobats and not but five minutes later girl was making out with one of them...it was great! Anyway, while my lady was playing tonsil hockey with said dude, Aoki came on and threw down. I have to say I wasn't really impressed with his set in NYC, I thought Sinden by far had the best chops in NYC...but Aoki came with it. He was really into his set too which of course is one of my favorite things to see. After his set was A-Trak...oh I hate to say this, but I think he is a far better producer than DJ. Every time I've seen him I've been like, eehh. All of a sudden my little switch in my head told me time to go. Now if you've known me and have gone out with me before you know I pull a disapperaring act. Most of the time I tell one person that I'll be right back. If I ever say that, it means I am out. I just have a hard time bringing myself to say good bye to people especially if I am out with a ton of people which I was on Sat eve. So as I grabbed my shit to take off I literally ran into Aoki. Here's how the convo went down:

Me: Hey you're Steve Aoki
Aoki: (looks at his hands and shirt and then looks at me) Well I guess I am
Me: Wow your set was great tonight...I also saw you in NYC...I'm your stalker
Aoki: Huh, really? Intersting.
Me: No, no...but I did see your set in NYC and I thought tonight you really out did yourself
Aoki: Thanks...so are you saying I sucked in NYC?
Me: No! NO!!! Of course not!! (thinking shit I am a horrible liar)
Aoki: You're a horrible liar
Me: (laughing nervously) No you don't suck I just like what you played tonight better (still laughing nervously)
Aoki: Thanks kid!
Me: I gotta go...this lady is wasted and needs her bed.
Aoki: (laughing) OK miss nice chatting with you even though you think my set sucked in NYC
Me: STOP...good night!

So he was super cool and a great sport...thanks Aoki!! OK, so I bought his album Pillowface and His Airplane Chronicles. It's a great mix of electro synthy beats with the opening track being by none other than mega punk stars Refused. D interesing that you and I were talking about them the other day and this song in particular. Anyway, most of you will hate the opening track because its loud, in your face and agressive...of course I love it! I used to be a punker back in the day...another post maybe one day. In any case, it's a really great album...nice job Aoki, nice job! Enjoy!

http://www.zshare.net/download/1089754556b4e433/

Saturday, April 19, 2008

Sammy Bananas

So I am getting excited as tonight is the Fool's Gold party at one of my old stomping grounds. They actually turned the downstairs of this club into a separate club of its own. Last time I was there was years ago and when I went it was like a high school reunion. All the OG club goers were there and it was insanely fun. I wonder who will show up tonight?

Since Sammy Bananas is one of the DJs gracing the ones and twos tonight, I thought I'd leave with you with one of his signature club bangers. This song is hilarious...cuz well, you'll see why! Time for my disco nap...more manana! Enjoy!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/10821294b8a78305/

Monday, April 14, 2008

Don't Want No Short Dick Man!

RIGHT? RIGHT! More on that later. So again apologies for being MIA yet again...but I was in Brooklyn and NYC since Thursday and even though I took my laptop with me, I did not have enough time for posting while I was there. I did however have enough time for seeing some really great music which this post will be about.

So Thursday eve went to the Fools Gold party which was Sinden, A-Trak, Kid Cudi, Steve Aoki, Nick Catchdubs and Sammy Bananas...I am going to this show here in SF Saturday so will do a comparison Sunday at some point.

What really needs to be talked about is my adventure Saturday evening at Le Royale. It just so happened that Xavier De Rosnay (one half of Justice) was doing a DJ set. I had mentioned this to two of my friends who genuinely seemed interested in checking the show out. One never returned a text...not a surprise and the other had the option of potentially getting laid so they opted for that...totally understandable. However before I got the "I'm blowing you off to get laid" text I was already on my way to Le Royale assuming they would show. Once I got the text I thought well I am pretty close should I still go? I was a little nervous because I had yet to go to a club by my lonesome in NYC and wasn't sure if it would be similar to SF where making dance floor friends is as easy as 1, 2, 3! Having had 2 cocktails in me, I thought what the fuck? I have nothing to lose and I really wanted to dance.

So I get to the door and there are a bunch of people in line and it's not moving. I ask the people in front of me if I was fucked if I didn't have a ticket and they pretty much said yeah. However since I was by myself, looking pretty sassy and there was a dude manning the door, I figured I could somehow sneak my way inside. There were 2 drunk guys getting in the doorman's face quite literally and the doorman was not having it. I started to panic thinking I am FUCKED! These guys are ruining it for me! Just as I was about to get out of line, some random dude asked if anyone needed a ticket. I jumped up and down in the same manner kids used to when they heard Miss Nancy from Romper Room call their name through her magic mirror...sadly drizzholleringirl never had her name called :(...enough of the painful childhood memories...Anyway, I was stoked and he only asked for face which was even better.

As I walked into the club I was literally slapped with the smell of cigarettes, wine, garlic and BO...Tre Bien! The french contingency is here reprazentin'! I should have expected it. One thing quite different about SF & NYC is the eurotrash that seeps through most dance floors . They're everywhere in NYC and only in SF June through October. Good people watching for sure. The smell was sooo overwhelming though that I needed to pound 2 cocktails back to back. I went upstairs where Xavy was set to spin. Met some nice folks who were looking to move to SF. I told them we should switch apartments ;) One of the guys noticed Xavy was setting up so we all chasaed to the dance floor. No really we did.

Let's talk about the dance floor. People seem to forget that a dance floor is made for dancing yes? And when you dance it means you move. And when you move, you are likely to bump into others. And when you do, you smile and acknowledge them as you are having just as good of a time as they are. And then everyone is happy and enjoys their time. You would think that's how it goes. Well there are always people who have never taken dance floor etiquette 101. I have a doctorate in this field and graduated magna cum laude so there is no trying to prove me wrong here. Seriously who throws bows in your back because your ass is touching them? MOVE then! No one is forcing you to stand here...and for that matter why the fuck are you STANDING on the dance floor??? It's not what it's made for!!! So me and this dude were about to throw down as I firmly told him it was not necessary for him to dig his elbows in my spine. Since he didn't seem to want to listen, instinctively I did what only this SF girl could think of doing to make peace...I pulled out a j and asked him if he smoked...30 seconds later we were BFFs. He ended up being a really nice guy and apologized for his idiocy. He introduced me to his pals and we had a nice little crew. For the next 2.5 hours we danced our asses off! I mean I did not leave to get a cocktail Xavy's set was soo good...even with him smoking cigs his set was still amazing! The five of us were soaking wet by the end of the night. It looked like I had showered with my clothes on. I haven't done that in a long time! I was happy I took the plunge and was totally successful!

You'll be ecstatic to know that I found Justice's Dj Set for Fader and it's very similar to what Xavy played Sat eve. This is a nice segway to the title of this post...if you go to 6:02 of the mix...Xavy brings in one of my favorite tracks that I forget who it is, everyone uses it...it's an amazing electro beat that gets everyones arms up and asses shaking...Xavy played that track layered with the vocals of don't want no short dick man...the crowd went bananas...Although I don't think the guys I was with liked the fact that I knew the words and kept singing it to them...oops ;) Unfortunately there is no track listing, BUT this set is a good mix of club tracks that includes extended remixes of Justice songs and the very last track makes you wish the set didn't stop. If you want a little taste of my saturday night adventure...download this mix! Enjoy!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/5697192cc6da57

P.S.--Shit I just had a flashback to the evening...Oh Xavy, you genius! Do you know what he followed with after the Don't Want No Short Dick Man track??? This track...C the Baddest B...I thought of you and our taking over the right side of the dance floor days ;)

http://www.zshare.net/audio/10601517f728b439/

Wednesday, April 9, 2008

Z-Trip

Hey there hi there ho there...sorry I've been M.I.A. There has been way too much going on in the past few days with birthdays, wedding showers and social engagements. I've not been able to say no to much of anything these days. Today is exciting because I am finally going back to the city I love soo much and will soon be new home to me...yes that is Brooklyn! Soo in light of that I wanted to give you something spectacular, but guess what? I've downloaded a ton of music and listened to a lot of it...you all should be happy that I essentially live in my car and that I can listen to music at work. In any case, a lot of what I've downloaded has been OK. Not great. Kind of a bummer really. You would think with some of these track listings they'd be insanely good, but alas they are not. However, recently I did download something new from your friend and mine, Z-Trip.

Who doesn't know Z-Trip? Really? Well you should. He is one of the godfather's of mashups. He truly is a unique talent. Aside from scratching and mixing which he does flawlessly, he also makes his own music and plays instruments. He kills a drum set...in the same way Travis Barker, Keith Moon (well that would be past tense for KM since the yolk is no longer with us...oh I miss you so!)...and Matt Cameron do...yes I said it, Matt Cameron...did you ever see him with Soundgarden? Three words dude JESUS CHRIST POSE...His hands used to bleed in the same way Pete Townshend's did doing his ever popular windmills...I shit you not...but I digress...point is Z is an amazing guy. Politically aware, culturally savvy and just plain stupid dumb. Recently he did a great mashup for White Label (a post on them will follow later). This track includes the beat to Mims, "This Is Why I Am Hot!" (B remember that being our theme song last summer along with "Walk it Out"...wesss side walk it out...HA!). He adds the vocals from Dawn Penn and Bounty Killer's "You Don't Love Me", throws in a splash of Sister Nancy's "Bam Bam", a dash of bmore sirens and does a little scratching. The producing is excellent and on point. A little gem for you.

http://www.zshare.net/audio/10281523673f341b/

The next mix I am leaving you with is an old mix from both Z-Trip and Radar Live from Future Primitive...the first time a lot of us saw Z-Trip and literally stood if front of their tables with our mouths opened the entire time. I think I said "Oh Shit" more times than I ever have at this show. Oh Future Primitive you threw the best shows...what the fuck happened? Anywhose, this mix is 10 fucking years old...shit...I am old dude! However it is really really good. A great mix of old school hip hop with a splash of classic rock...seriously good. I think Djs who do these kind of mixes now are all homages to this mix in particular. Party people pumping their fists like this!!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/10278337e8cf304c/

As an added bonus because I love Z-Trip so much...in fact let me tell you a little story of how much I love him...I stood in line for 15 minutes to meet him. HA! I know what you're thinking, 15 minutes no bigs. Try standing in a sardine line with tons of other people for 15 minutes in 112 desert heat. I probably lost a couple of pounds in water weight as I was soaking when I finally got up to the table. The best part is he really is the nicest guy and his fiance, who I believe is now his wife, is just as sweet and hot! OH and you know whose set I missed the end of to do this? Diplo...sorry Dips...you were throwing down too...but I knew I'd see you later! In any case, he like me, likes to share...so on his website he has a downloads section. For some ridiculously good mash ups, I highly recommend the Live in LA mix...for those of you aspiring DJs watch the QBert interviews...Oh and the Miami Bass tribute is great too. Get some good stuff kids!

http://www.djztrip.com/downloads.html

Friday, April 4, 2008

Happy Birthday!

This is dedicated to the 5 people I know who have birthdays from the 3rd to the 10th...love you all soooo much...this is for you!!!

http://www.tothepointnews.com/index2.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3114&pop=1&page=0&Itemid=76

But no seriously...this song is dedicated to you...the greatest!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/10045810e6239a06/

Thursday, April 3, 2008

Creepin'

**DISCLAIMER** Warning, I was beyond tired writing this so be prepared for lots of F bombs and lots of gramatical errors I am too tired to fix...DEAL SUCKAS!!

OMG! I am soooooo fucking tired...and am starting to get sick again!! Jesus fucking christ are you kidding me? I guess I should get more than 4 hours sleep on a school night. Was it worth it? FUCK YEAH! Oh GZA...man what a great show! OK, so seriously he was on his mark and proved his mad skillz last night. I am soo glad my friend got me into the sold out show. Oh and you know what else was fucking awesome? The 20 to 1 guy/girl ratio. In SF, that's how it is at most hip hop shows...lucky me! It was pure heaven.

So given my oh so tired state and given that I haven't had a chance to listen to the 5.5 gigs of music I've downloaded in the past 2 days...yeah seriously...I'm working hard for you kids...Anyway, I am gonna keep it simple tonight.

I thought tonight's focus should be on my use (or some of you might say *over use*) of the word *creepin'* to describe hip hop tracks I dig. Yeah, yeah...I am a dork, I know...but a dork that is right nonetheless. Visualize this, you're rollin' on some dubs with your boyz, not smilin', just bangin' to your beats, maybe a j in hand and mos def doin' the head bump...the cadance typically sounds like something is sneaking up on you and about to pounce.

For your listening pleasure I've given you 3 creepin tracks...all from the WEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT SIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDEEE!! Seriously, I am for hire if your Grandpa Harold wants to learn gang signs or the kid and play.

First track, representin' City of Compton, my and your boy, The D.O.C. He was actually from The Republic of Tayhass, but moved to Compton and hooked up with Dre. Sources say that The D.O.C. was Dre's first protege. His style was unique and on point. No, he's not dead, but he got into a serious car accident that actually severed his vocal chords. For the longest time I thought he quit rappin' because he had throat cancer...but I got schooled :) Anyway, this track came out in '89...and if you grew up on the west coast, I don't care how old you were at the time, you knew this song and loved it...DROPPPP IT ON THE ONEEEEEEEEEE BOOOOYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/9982376f6ca08d/

If you're a lyrics person, this next track is a throw away. Simply, it's all about getting fucked up on drugs. Daz Dillinger is the creator and you know I am not going to sit here and speak highly of his talent, because, well, I don't necessarily think there is talent here. Dillinger got his claim to fame by being instrumental in Death Row Records as part of the duo Dogg Pound (Kurupt was his partner in crime). Apparently he's also snoop's cousin...shit who the fuck isn't...that will be one of my post's for sure...HOWEVER, this song super creeps and whether the lyrics are bad or not this song is still fun! Oh and it came from the soundtrack to super disturbing director, Larry Clark's Bully. All I can say about that movie is the following, it's about teenagers that kill each other, there are lots of gratuitous, I mean lots of gratuitous shots of Bijou Phillips' pussy and the cherry on the cake...based on a true story that happened in none other than a small town in fucking Florida...nuff said. We smokin' bom bombs, we smokin' bom boms, we smokin' bomdabombadadabomboms!

http://www.zshare.net/download/9983870d270735/

Last, but certainly not least from the YAYYYYYYYYYYYYY AAARRRRRRRRRRREEEAAAA...Too $hort! Too $hort's been rappin since he was 4 fucking teen years old...no joke!!! From East Oakland, as if you didn't know since he shouts out to e. oakland in virtually every song. I saw Too $hort and Ice Cube in a warehouse in East San Jose when I was 16!!! There was a shooting that night in the warehouse during Cube's encore and everyone went running for the door...it was a very scary thing to experience as a stoned, catholic school girl, who happened to be lying about her whereabouts that evening. All I kept thinking was if I get shot, my parents will be sooo fucking pissed!!! Enough about me, Too $hort has a very distinct voice and he loves to say beeatch...according to him, in this song, he claims he said it first! HA! Nice try Too $hort! This jam is a faster creepin' song but definitely creepin' and definitely a sick track! Although this song was part of the hyphy movement, unlike the rest of those characters and their tracks, this one is a classic! I come from East Oakland where the youngsters get hyphy!!!

http://www.zshare.net/audio/9984469c699afe/

Tuesday, April 1, 2008

Bill Groundhog-Day, Ghostbustin'-ass Murray!

Once I was on the phone with a friend and we were having a heated argument regarding "Enter the Wu Tang". She was insistent that above everyone else, Method Man had the best chops as he was the *only* one who got a solo on that album. WACHOO TALKIN' BOUT WILLIS??? Is pretty much what I told her. I mean I could tell you the diatribe here, but I shall refrain. *Obviously* she was not in the know, like yours truly. In a nutshell, I gently reminded her that my boy, The Genius...aka GZA, also had a solo..."Clan in da Front" and he too had a lot of chops...all the critics agreed. Her comeback was, the GZA the RZA why doesn't he choose who to be?!?! NI*&A WHAT??? I merely said go listen to "Clan in da Front" and go rent Jim Jarmousch's "Coffee and Cigarettes". She hung up on me. The next day I got a message from her that said, you were right I should have known better than to argue with you BUT for the record RZA is hotter than GZA...(I totally disagree with that by the by). You knew she couldn't lose gracefully. Oh come on now...don't be a sour puss that story was funny and you know it! I love you and miss you more than you know! Shoot, you're probably not even reading my blog bitch!

So why the fuck did I tell you that story? Because tonight I get to see none other than GZA perform "Liquid Swords" in its entirety...HELLLLLLZZZZZZZZZ
YYYYYEEEAAAAAAHHHH!! Ok, so who doesn't know about Liquid Swords? Maybe a lot of you. Not everyone was a Wu Tang fan. I know I wasn't in love with everything they put out. However, if any one of you knew me when Enter the Wu Tang came out, you'll remember how I used to annoyingly get in your face and say "WELCOME TO THE 36 CHAMBAS!!!" C'mon, that's some fun shit to say! Soooo Liquid Swords was GZA's solo project released in 1995. Lyrically this was one of the best albums out at the time. RZA and 4th Disciple produced it. I like it A LOT! So for you a little nostalgia and the album Liquid Swords. Enjoy!

http://www.divshare.com/download/4151504-e31

P.S.--Coffee and Cigarettes not one of Jarmusch's best...but check out this scene between GZA, RZA and Bill Murray.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGfXOglHIGg